Google rolls out privacy reset for Buzz social network

Google has said that it will begin to roll out a privacy reset for its controversial social network Buzz. The search giant will ask all its users to confirm or change their privacy settings, starting on 5 April. The firm was forced to make a series of changes to Buzz just days after launch, following a backlash from users worried about privacy intrusions. Last month, US Congress members urged regulators to investigate the service and the private information it exposed. The latest tweaks will also show every aspect of a user’s profile, from public settings to the websites users are connected to, and who they are following or being followed by. Google launched Buzz at the beginning of February and integrated it with the company’s e-mail product Gmail, which is said to have over 170m account holders. The service allows users to post status updates, share content and read and comment on posts in much the same way as those who have signed on to Facebook and Twitter do. Amid concern over how much personal information was being made public, Google made changes to Buzz to make it more clear how information was being shared as well as simplifying the process for blocking or following other users. Those early fixes did not go far enough for some critics. The Google Buzz team has promised more updates in the future

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/8603155.stm

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s