YouTube to allow ‘private’ videos

Users will be able to publish and share videos on YouTube without them appearing in public search

YouTube is now allowing users to share “private” videos with an unlimited number of people. So-called “unlisted videos” will be posted to the YouTube site but will not appear in public search results. Until now, users have been able to publish videos on the site and set them to “private”, so that only people they send the video web address to can view that clip. But the number of people the private video could be shared with was capped at 25, and viewers needed to have a YouTube account to watch the video. The new “unlisted videos” setting removes that cap, and allows the video to be shared with anyone, even if they don’t have a YouTube account. “Only people who have the link to the video will be able to watch it,” wrote Jen Chen, a Google software engineer, on the YouTube blog. “It won’t appear in any of YouTube’s public pages, in search results, or your personal channel or on the browse page. It’s a private video, except you don’t need a YouTube account to watch it, and there is no limit to the number of people who can view it. “You’ll get a link when you upload the video and then it’s up to you to decide who to share it with. Unlisted is the perfect option for that class project, video from last summer’s family reunion, or your secret Broadway audition tape.”

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/google/7718944/YouTube-to-allow-private-videos.html

Advertisements

One thought on “YouTube to allow ‘private’ videos

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention YouTube to allow ‘private’ videos « Steve Virgin's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s